The German Surf Federation DWV, located in Cologne/ Germany and founded in 1991, functions as a national association for surf clubs and individual members. Since 1st of January 2017 DWV as the non-governmental umbrella organization of German surfing is a recognized member of the German Olympic Sports Confederation (DOSB) as Sport Summit Association. On a national level the DWV has been member in the German Sportteacher Association (DSLV) for years. On a European level it is part of the European Surfing Federation (ESF). Additionally, it is member of the International Surfing Association (ISA). At the moment there are seven surf clubs which are part of the German Surf Federation: Surfers Connection Berlin e.V., Surf Club Sylt, No Shore Surfclub, layday e.V., VDWL, GSUPA and Surfing Wolfrathshausen.

The number of individual members, in this role supporting members, counts 528. The fold committee Adaptive Surfing and its task areas are organised by Johannes Laing, Marie Schacht and Frederike Schulz since 2018. This committee is a relatively new subject area for the German Surfing Federation. It works unsalaried on a volunteer basis. Since Adaptive Surfing is not yet know in Germany the task areas of the committee are primarily to support the promotion and distribution of Adaptive Surfing in Germany. Further tasks are to develop a German national Adaptive Surf team and to organise and coordinate the participation of national team members in international competitions. There have been three events of the World Adaptive Surfing Championships with German competitors. So far, we have three members in our national team competing in the AmpSurf ISA World Para Surfing Championship 2020.